Perjalanan Belajar Bahasa Korea (Extended Ver.)


I actually made this content for LinkedIn show-off post only. BUT I am such an overshare person and reallyyyy like to write in a very personal way. So, I decided to post my whole draft here. The LinkedIn post has this professional vibe, so here it is the personal and friendly version.


Okay, let’s start off with the very first exposure to the Korean language I ever had. I was 12, or even younger, I’m not sure. The only thing I am sure of is that I was in elementary school. And again, it’s all because of my lovely big sissy, of course. 🙂 She was still in the boarding school, and that one specific holiday, she kinda forced me to check what she got on her laptop. It was a bunch of K-pop MVs, from the 2nd Gen specifically. She was a huge fan of BIGBANG back then. I remember she was exactly behind me, while I’m watching those MVs. And she was like, “cool, isn’t it?” God, I literally remember it vividly. Somehow it’s cute and I couldn’t believe that I am still STUCK with K-pop even almost 12 years after this specific moment haha. 😀


I didn't immediately become a fan, I was MAD for Justin Bieber back then. (who didn’t?) Elementary school-me really loves to watch TV. The music chart program was my favorite (after Avatar and the legend of Aang ofc). Did you guys remember a program called On The Spot? I watch it a lot too, you know, and get updated about the latest trend. Usually they only play western songs. But one night, they played Bad Boy by BIGBANG, they played the MV! The same one that I watched with my sissy previously. Right after that, I decided to give it a listen. (a K-pop fan day 1)


Yup, just an usual K-pop fan, I listen to it so much, I search for the lyrics, memorize it eventually. Also, it was the time when the hallyu wave exploded. Everything about Korea was all over the place. Korean dramas started to air in Indosiar! Oh my god, I used to catch up with my besties, talking about Naughty Kiss lol.


Well, that’s the beginning where I started to feel so used to hearing the Korean language. My K-pop obsession eventually got severe (lol). I was just a music lover and got upgraded to watch all of their variety shows as well. And as for now, K-pop idols have more than variety shows, they have live shows, youtube contents, interviews, and all of that. And what sucks is that you need to wait for the ENG SUB. # international fans struggle


I think this is also a common reason for every K-Pop stan who started to learn Korean, it’s because of the language barrier. Those engaging contents felt like nothing without subtitles. Not to mention, each language has its cultural bond as well which sometimes cannot be translated to the target language. Yup, and It just motivated me to work harder on my Korean language, in a serious way. I really want to watch it with no subtitles, or at least I can understand it well even with Korean subtitles only.

Fast forward, I remember it was my semester break in my 3rd year, somewhere in 2021. I learned Korean by myself, in a formal/serious way for the first time. I have several neighbors who lived in South Korea before and luckily one of them gave me a Korean language learning book, for FREE. It’s just the usual Korean learning book, it’s from Cyber Edu Korea. I spent the 2 weeks off studying every night. It was a little bit tiring since I wasn’t really used to writing in Hangul which requires more shapes compared to the basic latin alphabets. And I remember my parents will go to see my Grandma every night and I just skipped it because I need to learn Korean, lol. I wasn’t learning that much actually, but at least I can introduce myself in Korean.


Actually, a little TMI, the ENG SUB that I always read everytime I watch idol’s contents, is actually helping me improve my English skill (lol). In terms of vocabulary and grammar, idk, somehow watching K-pop contents really boost my English. (really helped my grade lol) As for speaking, I really like to watch Johnny and Mark, or any English speaking idol contents. They really helped me a lot working on my speaking skill. Thanks Johnny Marky! (I’m still waiting for new English contents) Sorry guys, a little tips here for you who likes K-pop and wants to improve your English hehe.


I also subscribed to the Bubble chat. And they’re definitely talking Korean there. Of course I need to reply back in Korean as well. (with the hope they can understand what I want to say lol) So yeah, sometimes I tweet in Korean, going back and forth to google translate A LOT, and watching some Korean contents to grasp the context as well.


It was Fall in 2022. I spent it in Jeonju, South Korea, precisely in JBNU. I did an exchange program there and since I (technically) graduated from my home university, I only focused on learning Korean there. I took all the Korean language classes. I was in the beginner class, some lessons felt easy since I have the basics but some also felt new since I am still on my way. I could have ended up in level 2 but I literally skipped the placement test for a freaking SLEEP. but that’s okay. I think I was not even that good to be able to follow the level 2 material. (God knows I’d be too powerful, lol)


Outside the class settings, of course it’s way harder. My Korean was literally being tested. I actually knew that of course not all Korean people speak English, BUT I didn’t expect it’d be like THIS. Literally, 80% was all in Korean. You definitely need to speak Korean, even if it’s only a little, it’s okay. Just be educated about the Korean language, you’ll be totally okay. If you’re going to Korea while only relying on your English, pls don’t have high hopes. Yeah, It may work if you’re only in Seoul, and Busan too maybe. But outside of it, definitely speaking Korean is a great asset.


Okay, let’s trace back to all my language struggles that I had in South Korea. First, I took Korean Air, ALONE. I only expect to watch SuperM ads, and everything will be normal. Oh girl, little did I know. It’s Korean Air, of course all the crews will speak Korean and all the systems are based in Korean language. I was doomed. I was lucky actually since the next seat was also Indonesian. What’s frustrating is that I can’t understand the flight attendant’s English. It’s so hard. I’m not trying to be xenophobic or anything. I literally find it hard to understand Korean people’s English. Another thing to expect is, yes, again, some people can speak English, but don’t expect you will get it. I prefer to speak with them in broken Korean. I’m sorry, again, I am not a xenophobic or anything. It’s just my personal preference. After I landed in Incheon, we had this pick up from JBNU, and some of the staff couldn’t speak English. It was, I think, the very first time I had a conversation with a Korean native using Korean, my broken Korean. I helped them a little, to say what my friends wanted to say. God, I felt relieved that all these hours I spent watching Korean contents didn’t get wasted.


The next frustrating language barrier is when I was in the post office. GOD, I didn’t know any vocabulary about being in the post office. Thankfully, this time, I wasn’t alone. It was so hard to explain what I wanted to say but I only had a very limited Korean. Long story short, we made it, we sent the mail, and I swear to God it was so TIRING. like, mentally.


When I was in the Korean class, I also kinda helped my international fellows to communicate with the native teacher, several times. That was nothing special actually, I was just giving them a hint or simple interpretation on what the teacher said. Personally, to be in the international setting as a person who studies languages for the past 4 years is such a blessing for me. Finally, I could put all the things I’ve learned into action. Honestly speaking, to be an English studies student is one of my insecurities since people used to look down at my major. When I could help people to communicate and translate it so as to avoid misunderstanding, it’s really a pleasure. I am happy I can help people.


As time went by, I kinda got used to it and I slowly got it. It is also because of my one and only Korean friend, Sumin. (shout out to you, Sumin!) She helped me a lot. She is also a good English speaker, like one of the best Korean who speaks English I met there. It’s nice having a native friend so that I could ask her anything about what I didn’t know. Again, because my Korean was also limited, sometimes I feel bad that I kinda use her as my personal interpreter but, Sumin…. I really can’t thank you enough <3 She even helped to translate the food ingredients since, you know, I was a vegetarian there. Thank you so much, Sumin, really.


Then, I kinda felt more confident with my Korean skill, which allowed me to (finally) have a me-time. Once, I went to Gaeksa alone, it's kinda downtown. I just went shopping there. I remember I was in this Olive Young. And I kinda had a lot of conversations with the staff. I need to ask for a lot of products that I need to buy. (just me searching for the things that my sissy wanted actually) I surprisingly could talk fluently with the staff, in Korean of course, and they’re not even initiating to switch to English. I love it because I think they kinda appreciate my efforts to have a convo in full Korean.


I remember asking where the product was, what's the difference between some products, and I even asked for a DISCOUNT lol. Damn, I am really proud of that specific moment haha. When I can speak a language and I can use it to shop and even get a discount, that’s enough for me. THAT’s it, that’s the reason why I can speak the language.


And what’s embarrassing is that, I kinda ruined the etalase lol, but the staff was too nice (they’re just doing their job ofc) they helped me to fix it. Even after I apologized several times they still answered “gwaenchanayo” with a smile. LOL I was so stupid and clumsy. (just me being me)


Okay, enough unnecessary story, back to my learning Korean journey. I went back to Indonesia and took an intermediate free class from SangSang Uni and SKKU on Coursera. I really want to learn Korean professionally because, again, I want to be able to watch idol contents with no subtitles.


Last October, I had my very first TOPIK test. I am grateful enough that my friend also took it (Thanks Kak Ros!) So, I didn’t really stroll around there alone. I actually really want to fast track to TOPIK 2. But I knew I’m not that advanced yet and the quota was always full. So, yeah, let’s start with TOPIK 1 instead of forcing TOPIK 2 and failing miserably.


I wasn’t really studying that hard. I was only doing 3 mock tests. The vocabularies were also kinda always the same for each test. Like, there’s a pattern for each vocab or grammar that will always be on the test. Also, I personally prefer to exercise as much as I can. Taking notes on some new verbs and studying more specifically on materials that I always answered incorrectly. I am the type of person who directly jumps on the question bank instead of reading thoroughly the material.


The test was in UGM, I specifically also took the time to spend it with my friends. I was talking all night with my friends, thank God I didn’t skip the test. BUT I got so sleepy during the listening part. and guess what? I SLEPT.. for some freaking seconds I SLEPT…… God.. (God knows I will be too powerful if I’m awake enough to answer all the questions correctly) But that’s okay, I finished it well. I actually only targeted to get 170 at least because my average score during the mock tests was around 160-170ish. So, when I got 182 I was kinda shocked. Of course I expected to get a perfect score, but NAH there’s no way. But still, 182 is kinda high tho. (proud of you, aning)


As for my Korean skill now, I can type in Korean well, I can understand simple and short sentences. but if it’s a WHOLE long paragraph… I still find it hard to read. I cannot read fast actually, I still need to spell it one by one. Not to mention, there are lots of words that are kinda similar but they sometimes have a very different meaning. So, yeah. working on my reading skills.


So yeah, that’s my learning Korean journey. I do hope one day I can get level 4 or 5, but I think I won’t be able to get it in the near future. Fighting for all people who want to learn a new language! It’s actually easy, the key is just don’t stop to use it, just keep talking in the language. Don’t let it fade!

Comments